About the room

  • Apartment
  • 2 bedrooms total
  • 1 bedrooms available (Single Room)
  • 1 bathrooms
  • 6 months minimum stay
  • Available now
  • Terrace/ Balcony
  • TV
  • Wifi

Who lives there

1 male, professional, non smokers


Ideal roommates

male, from 25 to 39 years old


Room description

Hi! My current roommate of four years is moving out, and I’m looking for someone (M) to take his beautiful, light-filled bedroom in a 2BR on the border of the Mission and the Castro, three blocks north of Dolores Park.

looking for someone who:

-is respectful of quiet time/different schedules–i'm often up at around 6 or 6:30 (at least when the world is still functioning)

-goes to an office/doesn't work from home (again, at least when the world is still functioning)

-is tidy in common areas

-has a mindful approach to conflict - if we're gonna live together we don't have to be best friends, but we should be able to discuss issues as they come up!

-is thoughtful, respectful, laid back, and friendly

-is cool with signing a roommate agreement (i'm the master tenant on the lease) and a background check

-is able to provide references & $40 background check fee

-is willing to meet/talk on phone beforehand to see if there is a fit

about me:

-native michigander

-active: volunteer at SPCA, take classes at CCSF, play ice hockey

-work in tech

-hobbies: reading, occasional video/board games, sports, walking in SF

-male, 29

about the place:

-rent is $2240 a month (just typing that out hurts me, but it’s SF so what can you do), plus internet ($50) + electric (varies) + renters insurance (required by landlord; $10) + youtubetv if you watch tv ($25). security deposit is $2150.

-in-unit washer & dryer - I didn’t realize how convenient this would be when I moved in!

-dog-friendly (up to 85 pounds; deposit required unless you have an ESA thing)

-amazing location - on the border of the castro and mission; can walk to both, duboce triangle, haight, hayes, etc.

-~5 minute walk from Market Safeway/Whole Foods/Golden Foods (locally owned grocery store)

-~5 minute walk to Church Muni; ~3 minute walk to J; ~10 minute walk to 16th St BART

-close to 101/80 @ Van Ness/13th

-very responsive and friendly landlord (we are her only tenants)

-small backyard (but dogs can't be off-leash in backyard)

-living room & kitchen are furnished, but we can talk about re-arranging if you're passionate about that sort of thing–it's your space too!

-3rd floor with huge windows in kitchen and both bedrooms

-hardwood floors

-bedroom is 9.5x11 or so, not including the window alcove thing, and has a closet and beautiful windows; unfurnished

-cooking okay & encouraged as long as you don't leave things unwashed for a while

-no smoking indoors/near entrances

-single occupancy only, & I'm stealing this from another posting I looked at for research: "if you are in a relationship, that’s cool, but I'd ask that your plus-one respect the living situation by not staying over every night." (see part about one bathroom)

-street parking only (I do it every day and usually find a spot on first pass; sometimes I have to circle or check a few extra streets)

-occasional gatherings of a couple people or more are okay as long as guests are respectful and we discuss ahead of time

If you’re interested, please shoot me an email with a little bit about yourself/what you do for a living/what you're looking for!


Listing ID: H2004126323397

Posted on 12 April 2020