About the room

  • House
  • 4 bedrooms total
  • 1 bedrooms available (Single Room)
  • 3 bathrooms
  • 6 months minimum stay
  • Available 1 October
  • Terrace/ Balcony
  • TV
  • Wifi

Who lives there

2 mixed gender, professional, non smokers


Ideal roommates

professionals


Room description

We have a basement bedroom October 1st (maybe the last weekend in September). It is 11'x12' with a built out closet and full size windows. Rent for this room also includes a private bathroom (with a bath tub, not just a shower stall). In the hall connecting the bedroom and the bath there is a walkout entrance to the rear of the house, wet-bar with a microwave and small refrigerator, and the laundry facilities that are shared by all roommates. The living room, dining room, and full kitchen are on the main floor, which you would of course have access to.

The house is located just off N. Capitol Ave, two miles up from the U.S. Capitol Building and Union Station. Glenwood Cemetery is to the East, McMillan Reservoir is to the West. There are numerous bus stops nearby on N Capitol and we are exactly 1 mile from the Brookland and Rhode Island metro stations. This is a great location for people who like to bike and we also have room in the basement for your bike(s)!

The house is 4 bedroom/3.5 bathroom row house, fully renovated in the summer of 2012 with all new appliances. As mentioned, there is a washer and dryer in the basement. And if you like cooking we have a nice gourmet kitchen with large gas range, granite counter tops, and stainless steel appliances (it is also nice to just look at if cooking's not your thing). The utilities (gas, electric, water, Verizon FIOS Internet) are be divided even between all occupants (appx $100 person per month). We have a TV, DVD player, and Roku box with Netflix in the living room to share, but each bedroom has its own cable hookup as well (if you want to pay for your own cable).

Your two potential (human) roommates are both vegans with busy lives and who are above average on the cleanliness scale. One is in her late 30's and a dedicated to her dog and cat and animal rescue. The other roommate (homeowner) is in his early 40's and enjoys Jiu Jitsu and weight training. In general, we enjoy quiet nights at home and time at respective gyms. We have mixed schedule, but settle in for a quiet night by 10pm. The four-legged roommates are three (strictly indoor) cats. Two roam the house the third doesn't leave her human's room. There is also the best behaved beagle that usually goes to work with her human. It is very important that you like, not just tolerate, animals. We keep a clean house.

Ideal roommate is vegan. It would be nice to find a roommate (no couples) who has stable employment and has a similar lifestyle and interests. Non-smoking is a must. Six or more month lease is preferred. As far as extra animals in the house, we'll leave that open for discussion on a case by case basis (additional rent/security deposit). Both off-street parking spots are currently in use, but there is zoned-street parking.


Listing ID: H190830151916419

Posted on 30 August 2019