About the room

  • Apartment
  • 3 bedrooms total
  • 1 bedrooms available (Single Room)
  • 1 bathrooms
  • 3 months minimum stay
  • Available 1 July
  • Furnished
  • Garden
  • Terrace/ Balcony
  • Wifi

Who lives there

2 male, from 25 to 35 years old, professional, non smokers


Ideal roommates

female, from 25 to 40 years old


Room description

DESCRIPTION

The largest room (approx. 130 sqft) is available. It has a newly renovated wooden floor and two large windows that bring a lot of light into the room (with blinders to shade the sun if needed). The room comes fully furnished with a full size bed (Black Ikea frame with a new mattress), two chairs, a chest of drawers and a study desk. Independent heater and radiator in the room. The apartment is conveniently located on the first floor of a three-floor house, which makes moving in and out a lot easier. It is a charming place (recently repainted in champagne colors, beautiful pictures and paintings on the walls, plants, many windows), and well-furnished by the landlord (couch, coffee table, dinner table and chairs, lamps).

APARTMENT FEATURES

Bedrooms: 3

Bathrooms: 1

Living Room: 1

Interior Amenities: dishwasher, microwave, gas stove, major countertop appliances and cookware, refrigerator with a small freezer

Lots of closet space

Private balcony with many plants and small herbal garden

Washer/dryer in the basement (2$ per run)

Rent: $950 without utilities

Utilities include internet, gas and electricity: $50-$80 (~ 80$ during winter)

Deposit: First and Last Month

Move-in: July 1st, 2020 (or earlier)

Move-out: One Month in Advance Notice

LOCATION

Quiet hipster neighborhood in Somerville, close to Inman Square (5 min walking), Union Square (10 min walking), Harvard Square (15 min walking) & MIT campus (25 min walking). Lots of bars and restaurants around (e.g. Aeronaut Brewery) as well as a climbing gym just within 5 min walking distance.

Connections to Public Transportation:

• 15 minutes walk to Harvard/ Porter Square Red Line T Stations

• Bus 86 to Harvard/Sullivan Stations across the street (every 15 minutes)

• Bus 83 to Central/Porter Stations across the street (every 20 minutes)

Close to several supermarkets:

• 5 minute walk to Market Basket

• 5 minute walk to Whole Foods

• 3 minute walk to Wine & Cheeses kiosk on the corner of Beacon St. and Washington St.

YOUR ROOMMATES

Your roommates would be one mid 30s postdoctoral researcher from MIT and one PhD student from Harvard.

Lukas (male) is Czech and has traveled all around the world (all over the Europe, Turkey, Morocco, Georgia, Kyrgyzstan, Cuba, Peru, Colombia, Argentina, Bolivia, Nepal . . .). He is a biology researcher at MIT (Whitehead Institute), loves fine arts, runs marathons and ultramarathons, practices yoga and is an amazing cook. He takes care of a small herbal garden in front of the house during sunny days, and harvests it for his cooking adventures. In response to spending more time at home due to COVID-19, he recently turned the back porch into an open “potted” garden, where we can enjoy the sun and a bit of nature without having to wear a facemask. Eventually, we can gather there with few friends for drinks while properly socially distanced.

Anvay (male) is from India, finishing his PhD in Bioengineering at Harvard. He has been traveling all around the world and loves cricket, cooking and singing in the shower (he would not admit to that). He started his PhD in Santa Barbara before transferring to Boston with his lab. Anvay knows a lot about biological engineering, bioinformatics, investing in the stock market, as well as how to cook amazing Indian dishes.

I am ... (moving-out) a Swiss guy in my early 30s and I have lived here since January 2019. Lukas and Anvay have been wonderful roommates, so I highly recommend living with them. I have shared many amazing meals with them, led passionate discussions, and watched plenty of movies together.

YOU

We are looking for respectful, clean roommate who pays rent as well as bills on time and takes social distancing seriously during these quite unusual times. Our apartment would be perfect for a young professional (male or female), grad student or a postdoctoral fellow.

WHEN

Room will be available on July 1st (or earlier, if desired).

IF YOU ARE INTERESTED

Get in touch with us by email! We are happy to do virtual tours of our apartments. We may schedule in-person meetings or a chat at our back porch (if entering the apartment is a concern) for candidates who are seriously considering our place.


Listing ID: H200521172136519

Posted on 21 May 2020